Mrs. Campagna's Class

A mind is like a parachute, it only works when open. -Frank Zappa

A BIG Goal Met!

on February 4, 2015

In our classroom we have a very elaborate classroom economy that involves maintaining a checkbook, writing checks, earning money,  setting goals and creating plans for saving and spending.  All year one big goal that we have discussed is the opportunity for students to purchase their desks. Currently they pay rent on their desks, but once they purchase them, they will no longer have to pay rent, which will free up even more money to save or spend!  This week during Bank Day, we found that three students were able to reach their goal of buying their desks!!!! This means that they were able to pay rent for the month of January and had saved $1,300 to purchase their desks.  That is a lot of money!  Congratulations to Luke , Luisa, and Caleb!! I’m sure we will see even more students reach this goal next month!  Keep up the good work.

photo

Dear Students: For those who visit our blog who are unsure of what our economic system is, do you think you could start a dialogue in the comments below with each of you adding a new detail about how our system works?  Think about all the tiny details that make our classroom work so efficiently with our economic system!  I can’t wait to see all of your ideas. 

 


16 Responses to “A BIG Goal Met!”

  1. Kelly Strang says:

    Congrats!! I remember when I met that goal last year I loved it!!! Keep up the great work!!

  2. saml2012 says:

    Dear Mrs Campagna,
    Can you please make a post about s’more?congrats to Luke, Caleb, and Luisa. I remeber paying for my desk every month.It is very hard to meet that goal.That is alot of money!keep up the good work. I am going to make a post soon but i do not know what to write about .

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Hi Sam Lawrence!
      How are you? I hope you are having a fantastic year. We miss you down here at Falls-Lenox! I will put up a picture of S’More just for you later tonight when I get home. If you are going to write a post, I know I’d love to hear about what you are interested in or what you are doing for fun. The students would probably love to hear about what you are up to in 5th grade. Your teacher will hav an opportunity to learn about how we blog on Feb. 13th as I am doing a short lesson for teachers on it! You should tell him about your blog and encourage him/her to come!
      Hope to hear more from you soon!
      Love,
      Mrs. C.

  3. Rafael says:

    Dear, blogers

    Are economic system Is the way we make money. One way is to do extra homework like reading and math for bonus bucks you need $650 (six hundred fifty dollars).

  4. Luke's mom says:

    Congratulations to Caleb, Luisa and Luke for a job well done!!!

  5. natalie says:

    I’m still trying to buy my desk. But it may take a while.

  6. izzyn2014 says:

    Dear Mrs. Campagna,
    I’m so happy for the people that bought there desk. I am really trying hard to buy my own desk. I better start doing a lot of bonus work. I have been working on a research project but it is a secret of who it is! Congratulation Caleb. Luisa, and Luke!

    From,
    Izzy

  7. nataliej2014 says:

    I’m trying to buy my desk but I really need to save up not spend it all at the school store. The system is where if you do bonus work which Is when you do work on what were learning about. Another thing is every month you have to pay rent which Is 650 dollars and that include the paycheck which is 575 or 600 that depends on your job. That is the system.

  8. daniellec2014 says:

    Dear mrs.campagna,
    It will take a while until I get to buy my desk but my goal is to do a whole bunch of bonus bucks.

    From,
    Danielle

  9. Ms. Pjura says:

    Hello Mrs. Campagna’s Class!
    It’s so funny that you should suggest this because we just heard about quadblogging and we were wondering how we could start. Thank you so much for reaching out. We would love to be a part of the quadblog. We are really new to blogging, if you could help us along the way that would be fantastic! Thank you again so much 🙂 And congrats to Luke, Luisa, and Caleb (we have a Caleb in our class too) keep up the hard work!

  10. luisav says:

    Dear Mrs. Campagna,
    My guinea pig Hershey turned out to be a girl and caramel and Hershey and a baby we named her Cinnamon I will be doing a blog post about it.

    From,
    Luisa

  11. luisav says:

    I wanted to delete the other comment I made a mistake I meant to say that my guinea pig had a baby we named it caramel.

    From,
    Luisa

  12. Luke says:

    Thank you for congratulating me. I worked very hard to buy my desk.

    Sincerely,
    Luke

  13. braedenm2014 says:

    I am trying to buy my desk but I keep on telling myself to do even more bonus bucks.

  14. Alidia Ericsson says:

    Thank you for writing on our blog. We are from Auroa School in Taranaki in New Zealand. There is 22 of us plus our teacher Mrs Ericsson and teacher aide Mrs DeBique. We are Year 3’s and 4’s. We really appreciate classes from around the world talking to us through our blog. We would love to be apart of the quad blogging experience if we are not too late. We have only begun our new school year with a new class two weeks ago. We like your idea of class money. We have a peg system but when we study money we may look at what you are doing. We are 1 to 1 iPads for the first time this year at our school. We would love to find out more about you.

    Thanks,
    Room 5, Mrs Ericsson and Mrs DeBique Auroa School
    http://mrsericssonauroa.blogspot.co.nz/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar