Mrs. Campagna's Class

A mind is like a parachute, it only works when open. -Frank Zappa

Special Olympics and Making Connections

on September 23, 2013

The last few weeks during Reading, we have talked a lot about making connections. We have talked about text to text, text to self, and text to world connections. Why do we do this? How does making connections make you a stronger reader?

It is time to start making connections around the world! Your job this week is to comment on this blog using good, strong comments.

Think about the story we read about the Special Olympics and watch the video below. Howย are youย similar to the young people that participate in the Special Olympics? How it must feel to train for these events? Think about the challenges these Olympians have faced. Visit this link to see a video about Susie Doyen. Can you make any connections to her feelings or experience? Write a comment about your thoughts!

Remember to use C.U.P.S., use an address like “Dear Class,” or “Hello Friends,” and end with a closing such as “Love, Mrs. C.” or “Your Friend, Sevey”.


71 Responses to “Special Olympics and Making Connections”

  1. Mrs. Campagna says:

    Sample Comment:

    Dear Class,

    Every time I watch this video I am so moved! The girl in the video does such a great job explaining her story and how she felt growing up. She goes on to explain how becoming a part of the Special Olympics changed her life. I made a connection to this video because I know that there have been times in my life when I was unsure of myself, or when I was not sure of what my gifts were. I feel like when I became a teacher I felt the same way as the girl in the video. I had found my voice and I was doing something I was meant to do. Can you make any connections to this video? Maybe your connection has more to do with what it takes to be an Olympian; practice, team work, perseverance? I can’t wait to hear your comments!

    Love,
    Mrs. Campagna

    • Anonymous says:

      Dear the hole class,

      I finally got on the blog!!!!!!! I clicked on smore and he sqeeks.
      I think the blog is very good for this class. I am injoying the blog. I can’t wait to get my own blog!!!!!!!!! Thak you for everything!!!!!!!!!!

      Love,
      Emma

  2. carley says:

    Hello friends,

    I can relate because I get very anxious when I try new things such as baseball, dance, volleyball and basketball. I am unsure of myself and I lack confidence then I have a meltdown. I also feel like I’m going to do something wrong in front of the class and I will do bad so every one will laugh at me. When I get use to it, I feel like I can do the sport right and I’m not as scared. I gain confidence and I feel better.

    Love,
    Carley

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Dear Carley,
      Wow! That was a fantastic, well thought-out comment! I can tell you
      Put some real thought into how you might connect to the girl in the video!
      I also have had that feeling when I teach a new fitness class. You have to
      Just always do your best! Thanks for putting so much effort into your
      Comment.

      Love,
      Mrs. C.

    • carley says:

      Hello friends,

      I admire Susie because she was shy and I’m shy too but then when I see her doing something, I feel like I can do it too. She is a role model. She is someone I can look up to and I can feel good about myself because if she can do it I can tooooooooooo.I think everyone can overcome their fears.
      love,
      carley

  3. sydney moses says:

    In the video the girl expresses her self good. This also reminds me of 2 girls that I know because they also go to the Special Olympics. But they get to play on our Freshman high school volleyball team!!!!!!!! Also they are much more capable of doing more then people think they can do. The girl in the video can do anything she puts her mind to and to treat others as you would want to be treated!!!!!!!

  4. Nick says:

    Hello Friends,

    I understand how she feels because I sometimes get nervous when I do my time test. I practiced harder and harder until I passed addition. I think the girl in the video had to try very hard then she learned how to be confident in herself. This helped her to talk to other people

    Your Friend,

    Nick ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hadley Allen says:

    Dear Class,

    I enjoyed the video because it showed that people that are different
    can do the same thing we do if they set their mind to it.I have a connection to Susie because sometimes when I have too read or talk in front of a large group or the class I get nervous as well. So it just go’s to show that we can all get nervous but we can also all do the same things!!!

  6. ian white says:

    aaaaaahhhhhh i cant find the video.aha found it.

  7. Kelly Strang says:

    I volunteered with the Girl Scouts for Special Olympics when they had their bowling event. I learned a lot from them – they never gave up. Each one of them cheered for the other teammates even though they were competing against one another. I had a lot of fun and one girl gave me a necklace for being her friend.

  8. Katie says:

    I feel like her because sometimes when I try new sports I have to meet new people and it gets scary. When I meet them I feel happy and not scared any more.

  9. Connor Burdette says:

    This reminds me of when I first started to play golf. I was shy. I thought I was going to be terrible. But after I teed off I did really well. Ill try to be a golfer like him. Sincerely,
    Connor

  10. Kelly Strang says:

    Katie, I like it when you are not scared any more!

  11. shannon says:

    I feel like that girl in that video. Because when I first start a sport I am shy. And scared but I met a friend . And I felt better I talked more and shared more then I use to!

    • carley says:

      Shannon,

      You have me as your friend toooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

    • carley says:

      Shannon,

      HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII.

    • Connor says:

      That’s what I first felt like when I started golf

  12. Katie says:

    Thank you Kelly

  13. Logan Fennell says:

    Dear class, this video makes me feel like I am on math. I need to get to 100 by December. I feel nervous while being timed. I think Mrs C’s phone sounds like someone is calling her. The girl in the video was nervous but at the end the Special Olympics helped her alot.

    Your friend
    Logan ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Dear Logan,

      That is a really strong connection. You are right. Joining the Special Olympics helped Susie find something that she was really good at. You just have to find your niche (thing you are really good at ) in Math. Maybe facts make you nervous, but I noticed you did a great job on money today! You know, I also felt so nervous when I was taking timed fact tests when I was in primary school. It was never my favorite thing. I am glad, though, that I did master my facts. It has really helped me in life. I know you will master your facts very soon! You have been working so hard! Great comment.

      Love,
      Mrs. C.
      p.s. I know! It definitely sounds like my phone is ringing. I will have to remember to change what the alarm sounds like! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Addie says:

    In the video Speechless the girl was scared to talk. Because she was afraid that someone was going to laugh at her. The girl in the video did a good job at explaining her life . This reminds me of when I was at a volleyball game their was a girl with a disability you never want to laugh at them or stare . They can not help that they have a disability . They were born with it.

  15. Brendan says:

    This video reminds me of my cousin who has Autism. He doesn’t speak clearly. I hope one day he can speak better and find something he is good at doing.

    • Logan Fennell says:

      hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  16. Adam says:

    Dear class,
    I watched the video and I feel happy for the girl. She was scared and shy then she joined the Special Olympics. Now she is happy about herself. Sometimes I feel shy and scared with new friends.

    From,
    Adam

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Dear Adam,
      I am so glad you shared that. I think that we can all agree that we feel that way with new friends. You want to make a good first impression. It sounds like you made a great connection with the video!

      Love,
      Mrs. Campagna
      p.s. I hope your head feels better!

  17. carley says:

    Hello Friends,

    Susie helps me stand up for myself. She can really help me face my fears and if I need help I can just think about her I can do anything. She’s an inspiration.
    LOVE,

    CARLEY

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Dear Carley,

      What a wonderful word to use! She is and inspiration. I think it would be helpful for all of us to remember someone like Susie as we go through our day. It will remind us to be caring and sensitive to other people’s needs. Thank you!

      Love,
      Mrs. C.

  18. colintehoke says:

    Susie can face her fears it’s also cool that they made that video I’m really glad the she fasted her fears it’s really awsome there is a bunch of awesome stuff

  19. colintehoke says:

    I think it’s really cool how she faced up her fears that’s really cool I like how she had the guts to do that

  20. colintehoke says:

    You guys are awesome was so close to make rock star hi breandon minecraft you better finish the rocket ship
    I know that your awesome

  21. colintehoke says:

    You guys are awesome I made excellent

  22. Ava says:

    Dear Class,

    Watching this video made me think of last year. I did not talk in 2nd. grade. Another girl called me a weirdo while I was in art class. This made me feel terrible. I felt like someone would laugh at me if I talked. Once I got away from that girl and moved to Mrs. Gommel’s class in the west wing, I felt comfortable and talked. I wrote a very special poem about being shy that I am going to read to all of you sometime this week. I am happy at school this year. Mrs. Friedman, Mrs.Campagna, and all of you are making me feel comfortable. You are all very special to me and I will keep you in my heart forever. Thank you.
    Your loving friend,
    Ava

    • Anonymous says:

      Dear Ava and Friends,

      That was a fantastic video. I think it is awesome that you are all commenting on this blog and sharing your experiences. I really hope that Ava shares her poem with you. It is a wonderful poem and when she read it last year it was one of the best days of my teaching career!
      Keep up the great work, third graders!
      Sincerely,
      Mrs. Gommel

  23. colintehoke says:

    Hi AVA

  24. Logan Fennell says:

    hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii bye

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Kylee Zale says:

    Dear Class,
    This video makes me think of the fact that everyone has a special thing inside. Susie Doyen’s special thing was to play golf. My special thing is art. Art gives me a passion to be myself. Golf gave Susie her voice and she could be herself. Also everyone has something their not very good at but thats ok.

    Love, Kylee

    • Mrs. Campagna says:

      Kylee,

      You also made a good point! Thank you for sharing YOUR special thing. You are right. Everyone is special when it comes to something, and everyone struggles with something else. It is important to remember that when we meet new people. Great comment.

      Love,
      Mrs. C.

  26. Jack McElroy says:

    Dear Class,
    I like this video because it had something important to say! I’m a little like the kids in the Special Olympics because I have choosing food problems and ADHD. It is difficult for me focus and eat right. I always have to try new foods by trying them three times to see if I like it. I have to take pills, and it’s difficult to focus without them. I think Susie Doyan worked hard at golf just like I work hard at focusing, football, and soccer. I think the Special Olympics is cool because everyone with disabilities gets to play. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Mrs. Campagna says:

    Jack,

    Thank you so much for sharing. It sounds like you really made a deeper connection with the video and that you spent some time to think about what kinds of connections you could make! Way to go! I think that the conversations we have had on the blog so far really show how everyone is different and special. I know you are special, Jack, and I appreciate you sharing with us. Keep the conversations going guys!

    Love,
    Mrs. Campagna

  28. carley says:

    HELLO FRIENDS,

    Susie did not raise her hand a lot in school just like me in first grade. She would try to sit at the back of the room and hide so she wouldn’t have to answer questions. I would do the same in a new grade or school. She is an inspiration to everyone.
    LOVE,
    carley

  29. molly says:

    I knew a girl that did not really did not talk and that reminded me of that time.

  30. molly says:

    Dear class, in kindrerend there was a girl that really did not talk when I watched speechless it remided me of that.

  31. Katie says:

    See you tomorrow.

  32. ian says:

    bank day is so much fun pluse my mom is here.

  33. rockmonster says:

    sup people

  34. rockmonster says:

    jack is not rockmonster

  35. Nick says:

    who is rock monster?

  36. Nick says:

    really who rock monster I want to know.

  37. Nick says:

    DOES ANYONE KNOW WHO ROCK MONSTER IS!!!

  38. colintehoke says:

    Not me

  39. Kylee Zale says:

    Hey class,

    I was just saying hi because I did not post in a while. Thats all for now,

    Bye!

  40. Kylee says:

    hello’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar