Mrs. Campagna's Class

A mind is like a parachute, it only works when open. -Frank Zappa

Perimeter and Area

on December 3, 2012

We have been spending quite a bit of time learning about perimeter and area and you are almost professionals! You have two challenges here:

1. First, sing the perimeter and area songs to a family member. If you can, take a video of you singing it and email it to Mrs. Campagna and we’ll put it on your blog! Remember the words:

Perimeter, perimeter, goes around around. Add up all the sides and then you write your answer down!

Area , area, throughout the whole middle. For rectangles it’s base times height and your answer will always be right!

2. Solve the problem below.

I want to build a small football field in my backyard. I need to know how much fencing I have to purchase to surround my whole yard. I also have to know the area , because I want to purchase some artificial grass for the field. Solve the problem to let me know how much fencing I need and how much artificial grass I should buy. Show you work in numbers and words!

My backyard is 20 yards wide and 30 yards long.

If you need to draw a picture to help you, that is a great strategy to use!


8 Responses to “Perimeter and Area”

  1. samlawrence says:

    Dear mrs Campagna
    the area is 600 and the Perimeter is 100
    and this is how I got my answer: I added
    20 and 30 and I got 100
    and this is how I got my area I did 20*30 and I got
    600 I needed some help with that one
    your student
    saml
    p.s I forgot my homework at school

  2. malloryo says:

    Dear Mrs. Campagna,

    I know that the perimeter is 100 and the area is 600. This is the way I solved the problem:

    For the perimeter I drew a square and wrote on the top 20 and on the sides 30. Then I added 20+20=40 and I also added 30+30=60. After that, the answer to 60+40 was 100. Now the area was solved like this, I wrote ten times ten equals 100. Then, I tried to solve 30 times 20, but I couldn’t do it. So I did 3 times 2 and got 6. Lastly, I added 0 times 0 and wrote 0 down. Then, I realized that the area couldn’t be 60 because it was to small, so I put down another 0 and the answer was 600.

    Your Student,
    Mallory

  3. saml2012 says:

    Dear mrsCampagna
    I Dont Know why the cluster map is not there can you do the thing we did at school THANKS
    your student saml

  4. sammieg says:

    DEar Mrs. Campagna,
    The area is 600. The perimeter is 100.

    Your Student,
    Sammie

  5. Allie says:

    Dear Mrs.Campagna,
    I liked laerning about perimeter and area because you taught us that fun song.Also I liked making fun shapes for perimeter and area. That’s all I have to say for now.
    Your Friend,
    Allie

  6. saml2012 says:

    Dear mrs.Campagna
    once you keep on changing your theme your widgets will stay where they are I know that because it happened to me
    your student,
    sam L.
    P.S ignore that messege on your phone

  7. erin says:

    Dear Mrs.Campagna,
    My answer is 600 for the area and for the perimeter I got 100. First I thought if I new what 20+20 is I would just add 30+30 to that and then I would get my answer.For area I just thought of what it could be then I rounded up after I rounded I got a caculter and cheked my ansewr.Thats how I got my answer

  8. saml2012 says:

    dear Mrs Campagna
    how do you get the student blogging badge can you comment on my blog the instrouctions THANKS!
    your student,
    Sam l.
    http://saml2012.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar